PixelatedRESULTS: Gibbs Finds Victory at Tricky Triangle

Ty Gibbs wins at Pocono in the ARCA Menards Series on June 26, 2020. (Screenshot from FS1 broadcast)

LONG POND, Pennsylvania (June 26, 2020) — Ty Gibbs was the dominant driver in Pocono on Friday evening, leading 65 of 80 laps to win the General Tire #AnywhereIsPossible 200, his second win of the season. This was his 13th career ARCA Menards Series start, and first at the “Tricky Triangle”.

After a series of smokey burnouts and donuts, Ty Gibbs emerged from his car all smiles, slapping the side of his car in jubilation.

“It feels good to be back into victory lane, Pocono especially,” said Gibbs during his FS1 interview on the frontstretch.

“It sucked to see Riley (Herbst) get wrecked last week (at Talladega) by whoever that was, and then we come back here and win so it’s good revenge. I just can’t thank everybody enough. I can’t thank everybody that’s here… there’s a ton of people in the grandstands… my Mom and everybody there… I just can’t thank everybody enough. This is a dream come true; I’ve been coming to this track since I was a little kid and now I come here and win… so it feels good man, it feels good.”

And now, The Race Rundown…

Ty Gibbs was the best car in this race, but did have to contend with challenges from a sporty Michael Self on restarts. Gibbs and Self and a nifty battle midway through the event, but in the end, Gibbs was able to pull away.

Jason Kitzmiller made heavy contact with the frontstretch wall on lap 55 after the restart following the second competition caution of the day.

On the next restart, at lap 59, Gibbs pulled away from second place Sam Mayer, who started the race from the rear due to unapproved adjustment prior to the start. 

With 12 laps remaining, Chandler Smith moved around Mayer for the second spot, and set his sights on the leader, but Gibbs had checked out to an over three second lead.

Smith gained a little, but in the end, Gibbs won by a margin of 2.314 seconds over the field.

Results from the General Tire #AnywhereIsPossible 200 at Pocono Raceway

1.18 – Ty Gibbs
2.20 – Chandler Smith
3.21 – Sam Mayer
4.23 – Brett Holmes
5.25 – Michael Self
6.15 – Drew Dollar
7.4 – Hailie Deegan
8.22 – Derek Griffith
9.10 – Ryan Huff
10.69 – Scott Melton
11.12 – Ed Pompa
12.82 – Sean Corr
13.48 – Brad Smith
14.97 – Jason Kitzmiller
15.17 – Tanner Gray
16.11 – Clay Greenfield
17.8 – Russ Lane
18.06 – Don Thompson
19.19 – Tommy Vigh Jr.
20.46 – Thad Moffitt

– Daniel Vining, Twitter: @danielvining

PixelatedSPEED is a motorsports news and views website covering all things racing and has been going “Beyond the Headline” Since 2018. If you’ve made it this far into the post, thank you. Please consider sharing this content on the interwebs and following PixelatedSPEED on Facebook and Twitter and joining in on the conversation. http://facebook.com/PixelatedSPEED & http://twitter.com/PixelatedSPEED PixelatedSPEED is a part of the Gravel Media Network. Copyright – 2018 – 2020



PixelatedSPEED is a motorsports news and views website covering all things racing and has been going "Beyond the Headline" since 2018”.