Mercer Repeats in Sweat Hogg Grand Prix

Stevie Mercer puts the famous number 72 in victory lane for the second year in a row at Five Flags Speedway on February 29, 2020. (Eddie Richie/Turn 1 Photos)

PENSACOLA, Florida (March 1, 2020) — The 6th Annual Sweat Hogg Grand Prix took place at Five Flags Speedway on Saturday, featuring an interesting and quirky way to start the 2020 racing season at the famed half-mile speedway, and showcasing a familiar name in victory lane once again.

Stevie Mercer claimed the checkered flag for the second year in a row in an event that has become a bit of a tradition to start the year at the speedway.

The Sweat Hogg Grand Prix is a special event promoted by Robby McCleondon, a local businessman that among operating a successful motorcycle dealership, also promotes racing at the Pensacola Dirt Track, a tight clay oval that features motorcycle, go kart and ATV racing.

Once a year, Five Flags Speedway transforms itself from a high-banked half-mile oval into a winding, twisting roval for this event. The event is a 90 minute enduro-style competition utilizing 4-Cylinder cars and mostly amateur drivers.

Mercer, brother to 2005 Snowball Derby winner Eddie Mercer, is an accomplished racer, having run in the Snowball Derby himself in the past. However, Mercer retired from active competition several years ago and now runs in the Sweat Hogg Grand Prix instead.

Other notables in the field included second place finisher Brandon Burks, who has raced at Five Flags in a Pro Truck; Brandin Sidner, who has raced at Five Flags in Pure Stocks and Sportsman; Skyler Fleming, who has raced at nearby Sunny South Raceway in Grand Bay, Alabama; and Jim Pokrant, who races at Five Flags in the Sportsman division.

Results from the 6th Annual Sweat Hogg Grand Prix:

1.72Stevie Mercer
2.12Brandon Burks
3. 520Dylan Oestricher
4.94Brian Lane
5.84Ricky Johnson
6.42Brandin Sidner
7.11Skyler Fleming
8.X3Anthony Pierson
9.69Robby Mcleondon
10.7xDyno Dave
11.007Joe Barwick
12.3Camden Sidner
13.9Ronald Hardy
14.12Justin Babb
15.55Steve Sidner
16.88.5Frank Keller
17.4Wendell Felanico
18.12Brandon Davis
19.30Brandon Vickers
20.K3Terry Keller
21.4XCharles Young
22.9.5Colby Hughes
23.2Heath Oestricher
24.38Brandon Vaughn
25.17Ryan Maxwell
26.4.5Jamie Young
27.07Jim Pokrant

– Daniel Vining, Twitter: @danielvining

PixelatedSPEED is a motorsports news and views website covering all things racing and has been going “Beyond the Headline” Since 2018. If you’ve made it this far into the post, thank you. Please consider sharing this content on the interwebs and following PixelatedSPEED on Facebook and Twitter and joining in on the conversation. http://facebook.com/PixelatedSPEED & http://twitter.com/PixelatedSPEED PixelatedSPEED is a part of the Gravel Media Network. Copyright – 2018 – 2020



PixelatedSPEED is a motorsports news and views website covering all things racing and has been “Bringing Pixels 2 Pavement Since 2018”.